The institute
The Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board plays a key role in the definition of the scientific orientations of the Institute. At least once year, the members of Scientific Advisory Board meet with the Collegial Direction Team to hand over recommendations about the applications selection process, about the potential exchanges between future potential fellows and about the scientific policy to implement. The members of the Scientific Advisory Board are also invited to promote the Institute for Advanced Study and to recommend scholars who are likely to be invited.


Head of the Scientific Advisory Board

Rachel Riedl

Professor and Director of the Mario Einaudi Center for International Studies, and John S. Knight Professor of International Studies at Cornell University, USA.


Scientific Advisory Board Members

The Board is composed of 9 to 12 members appointed for 3 years by the Administrative Board, on the advice of the Director.

  • Antonio de Almeida Mendes, Lecturer at the University of Nantes, founding member of the International Research Center on Slavery, member of the Research Center on International and Atlantic History (France).
  • Fatou Binetou Dial, Sociologist and researcher at the Institut Fondamental d’Afrique Noire, (Senegal)
  • Ziad Elmarsafy, professeur de littérature comparative au King’s College de Londres (Grande-Bretagne)
  • Kazumichi Hashimoto, Professor at the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan
  • Ignacio Siles, Professor of Communication Sciences and Technology at the School of Communication of the Universidad de Costa Rica,
  • Marc-Henry Soulet, Professor of Sociology at the University of Fribourg (Switzerland).
  • Aniruddhan Vasudevan, Cotsen Postdoctoral Fellow à la Princeton Society of Fellows et maître de conférence au Conseil d’anthropologie et des humanités de la Princeton University (Etats-Unis)
  • Pu Wang, Literary critic and Professor of Chinese literature at Brandeis University (USA)