road_vous_etes_ici
Home
>
Fellows
>
Svetla KOLEVA

Fellows

Svetla KOLEVA

Sociology, Institute for the Study of Societies and Knowledge, Bulgaria

Fellowship : October 2018 to June 2019

Discipline(s) : Sociology

Pays : Bulgaria

Research project : The Social Sciences between Three Worlds. The Case of African Researchers Educated both in Eastern and Western Europe in the 1960s-1990s. Biographical Experiences, Knowledge, Trajectories

The research project is an attempt to approach the social sciences through the specific trajectories of African researchers, who, after studying in the East and West of Europe in the 1960s-1990s marked by geopolitical bipolarity, worked in multiple societal contexts. Their biographical experience between three worlds, Africa, Western Europe, Eastern Europe, is of unexplored richness for the social sciences and societies. Defending the idea that this trans-border, multi-situated and protean experience has contributed to the imperceptible formation of what is now called a ‘transnational science’ and a ‘world-society’, the project aims to develop the components of a theoretical and methodological model that may serve for future empirical testing of the initial hypotheses. By putting the socio-historical processes and the researchers’ specific trajectories into a common perspective, the project intends to outline a new conceptualization of the social sciences at the centre of which is the scientific experience, seen in the complexity of the life forms of the researchers themselves.

Biography

Svetla Koleva, PhD in sociology and DSc, is Research Director at the Institute for the Study of Societies and Knowledge, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, head of the Department “Knowledge Society: Science, Education, Innovation” at the same Institute, as well as a member of the Governing Board of the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences. She is also a member of the Editorial Board of the Bulgarian academic journal Sociological Problems, of the Ukrainian journal Studies of Changing Societies and of the Brill’s Series Post-Western Social Sciences and Global Knowledge. She has been a visiting professor in France (University of Toulouse Jean Jaurès), Canada (University of Ottawa, University of Quebec in Montreal, University of Quebec in Outaouais, Gatineau, University of Moncton, campus Edmundston), and Switzerland (Fribourg University). Koleva was awarded the French Government Fellowship (1993-1994), the European Communities’ Commission Fellowship (1994), the Soros Foundation Fellowship, Prague (1999-2000), the Advanced Academia Fellowship of Center for Advanced Study, Sofia (2012-2013), and the Foundation Maison des Sciences de l’Homme Fellowship, Paris (2013). Her central research interests are in the fields of history of sociology (the process of constructing sociology and the modalities of sociological practice in the countries of Central and Eastern Europe under the communist regime and during democratic transition), the epistemology of social sciences (history and mobility of concepts; production, transmission and reception of scientific knowledge; scientific exchanges between non-hegemonic national practices) and political sociology (new forms of civic action).

Major publications

KOLEVA, Svetla. Totalitarian Experience and Knowledge Production. Sociology in Central and Eastern Europe, 1945-1989, Leiden-Boston: Brill, 2018, 298 p.

KOLEVA, Svetla. Utopies entrecroisées en Europe de l’Est : de l’expérience communiste à la réalité postcommuniste, Education et Sociétés, 2016, 37 (1), p. 65-79.

KOLEVA, Svetla. « Comment rendre le social hospitalier? Lire la société totalitaire et post-totalitaire à la lumière de l’Éthique de l’hospitalité” ». In : Le temps de l’hospitalité. Réception de l’œuvre de Daniel Innerarity, L. Vigneault, B. Navarro Pardiñas, S. Cloutier, D. Desroches (sous la direction), Québec (Sainte-Foy): Presses de l’Université Laval, 2015, p. 161-175.

KOLEVA, Svetla. « Espace urbain et action citoyenne: rapports à géométrie variable ». In : Mobilisations citoyennes dans l’espace public, G. Rouet (sous la direction), Paris : L’Harmattan, 2013, p. 17-29.

KOLEVA, Svetla. « La réforme académique en Bulgarie et ses destinataires ». In : Les sciences sociales et leurs publics. Engagements et distanciations, M. D. Gheorghiu, P. Arnault (éditeurs), Iasi: Editura Universitatii “Al. I. Cuza”, 2013, p. 63-80.

Résidents

Svetla KOLEVA

Sociologie, Institut d’étude des sociétés et du savoir, Sofia, Bulgarie

Période de résidence : Octobre 2018 à Juin 2019

Discipline(s) : Sociologie

Pays : Bulgarie

Projet de recherche : Les sciences sociales entre trois mondes. Le cas des chercheurs africains formés à l’Est et à l’Ouest dans les années 1960-1990. Histoires, savoirs, parcours

Le projet de recherche se veut une tentative d’accéder aux sciences sociales à travers le(s) parcours des chercheurs africains, qui après des études à l’Est et à l’Ouest dans les années 1960-1990 marquées par la bipolarité géopolitique, ont travaillé dans des contextes sociétaux multiples. Leur expérience biographique entre trois mondes, africain, occidental, est-européen, est d’une richesse inexplorée pour les sciences sociales et les sociétés. Défendant l’idée que cette expérience transfrontalière, multi-située et protéiforme, a contribué à préparer imperceptiblement ce qu’on appelle aujourd’hui une « science transnationale » et une « société-monde », le projet vise à élaborer les volets d’un modèle théorique et méthodologique pour une future mise à l’épreuve empirique du questionnement initial. Par une mise en perspective commune des processus socio-historiques et des parcours singuliers des chercheurs, le projet entend esquisser les contours d’une nouvelle conceptualisation des sciences sociales au centre de laquelle se trouve l’expérience scientifique, celle-ci vue à travers le prisme de la complexité des formes de vie des chercheurs eux-mêmes.

Biographie

Svetla Koleva, docteur en sociologie et docteur ès sciences, est directrice de recherche et directrice du département « Société du savoir : science, éducation, innovations » à l’Institut d’étude des sociétés et du savoir (l’ancien Institut de sociologie) auprès de l’Académie bulgare des sciences. Elle est également membre du Conseil de direction de l’Académie bulgare des sciences. Elle est membre du Comité de rédaction de la revue académique bulgare Problèmes sociologiques, de la revue ukrainienne Studies of Changing Societies, ainsi que de la collection « Post-Western Social Sciences and Global Knowledge » chez Brill. Elle enseigna en tant que professeur invitée, en France (université de Toulouse Jean Jaurès), au Canada (université d’Ottawa, université du Québec à Montréal, université du Québec en Outaouais, université de Moncton, campus d’Edmundston) et en Suisse (université de Fribourg). Elle a bénéficié de plusieurs bourses du gouvernement français (1993-1994), de la Commission des communautés européennes (1994), de la Fondation Soros, Prague (1999-2000), du Center for Advanced Study, Sofia (2012-2013), ou encore de la Fondation Maison des Sciences de l’Homme, Paris (2013). Ses recherches portent sur l’histoire de la sociologie (processus de construction de la sociologie et modalités de la pratique sociologique dans les pays d’Europe centrale et de l’Est, sous le régime communiste et pendant la transition démocratique), l’épistémologie des sciences sociales (histoire et mobilité des concepts, production, transmission et réception des savoirs scientifiques, échanges scientifiques entre pratiques nationales non hégémoniques) et la sociologie politique (nouvelles formes d’action citoyenne).

Bibliographie sélective

KOLEVA, Svetla. Totalitarian Experience and Knowledge Production. Sociology in Central and Eastern Europe, 1945-1989, Leiden-Boston: Brill, 2018, 298 p.

KOLEVA, Svetla. Utopies entrecroisées en Europe de l’Est : de l’expérience communiste à la réalité postcommuniste, Education et Sociétés, 2016, 37 (1), p. 65-79.

KOLEVA, Svetla. « Comment rendre le social hospitalier? Lire la société totalitaire et post-totalitaire à la lumière de l’Éthique de l’hospitalité” ». In : Le temps de l’hospitalité. Réception de l’œuvre de Daniel Innerarity, L. Vigneault, B. Navarro Pardiñas, S. Cloutier, D. Desroches (sous la direction), Québec (Sainte-Foy): Presses de l’Université Laval, 2015, p. 161-175.

KOLEVA, Svetla. « Espace urbain et action citoyenne: rapports à géométrie variable ». In : Mobilisations citoyennes dans l’espace public, G. Rouet (sous la direction), Paris : L’Harmattan, 2013, p. 17-29.

KOLEVA, Svetla. « La réforme académique en Bulgarie et ses destinataires ». In : Les sciences sociales et leurs publics. Engagements et distanciations, M. D. Gheorghiu, P. Arnault (éditeurs), Iasi: Editura Universitatii “Al. I. Cuza”, 2013, p. 63-80.