Fellows

Suleiman MOURAD

Professor of Religion, Smith College, Northampton, USA

Fellowship : 7-18 January and May and June 2019 as Associate Fellow (previous fellowships: May to June 2018 and October 2012 to June 2013)

Discipline(s) : History

Area(s) of expertise : Etudes religieuses

Pays : Etats-Unis

Research Project: Violence and Nonviolence in Islamic Foundational Texts and Practice

The modern discussion of whether Islam promotes or prohibits violence is steeped in political and religious controversy, and has been shaping the public discussion of Islam in all its aspects. There is no point denying that Muslims who commit acts of religious/political violence find legitimacy and empowerment in a wide array of religious and historical texts and in the historical Muslim practice. There is also a tradition, which has existed throughout Islamic history, of nonviolence displayed in a rich legacy of religious and ideological diversity and tolerance among Muslims and between Muslims and non-Muslims. The two traditions have been seen as opposites and as reflecting different worldviews. I argue that we must avoid this binary compartmentalization of the issue: Islam is violent or Islam is nonviolent, this form of Islam is nonviolent and that form of Islam is violent, etc. Instead, my research project will focus on examining violence and nonviolence in Islam as reflective of unresolved struggle in the foundational texts (e.g., the Qurʾan, the Hadith of Muhammad, etc.) and the historical tradition and practice. The objective is to understand the nature and rationale of this struggle, and the way it has impacted Muslims’ practice of violence and nonviolence.

Previous research project ( Fellowship 2012-2013) : "Radicalization of Jihad Ideology in Crusader Syria: Religious Fanaticism or Political Manipulation?"

This research project examines a number of works on jihad produced in Syria during the Crusader period, and which have not been used in modern scholarship on the Muslim response to the Crusades or jihad in Islam. The project has four aspects: First, Suleiman Mourad will survey these works, analyze their introductions and the broad topics they cover, and determine the jihad vision they promote. Second, he will examine the involvement of rulers in the commissioning and promotion of these works. Third, he will study the scholars who produced them, determine what influenced them and how their jihad works influenced later scholars. And fourth, he will investigate the maneuvering of Muslim rulers who pursued diplomatic overtures with local Crusader and European leaders yet actively sponsored scholars to produce and disseminate militant visions of jihad against Crusaders and fellow Muslims.

Biography

Suleiman A. Mourad is Professor of Religion at Smith College, USA. His research focuses on Islamic history and religious thought, the Qurʾan, Jerusalem, Jihad ideology, and on the challenges of modernity that led to major changes in Muslims’ perception of and attitude towards their own history and classical thought. His publications include The Intensification and Reorientation of Sunni Jihad Ideology in the Crusader Period (Brill 2013), and The Mosaic of Islam (Verso 2016) / La mosaïque de l’islam (Fayard 2016). His research has benefitted from major awards, such as the National Endowment for the Humanities fellowship, USA (2008–2009), Nantes’ Institute for Advanced Study fellowship, France (2012–2013), and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation experienced researcher fellowship, Germany (2013–2014).  He appeared and served as historical advisor on several film documentaries, including The Sultan and the Saint (PBS TV, 2017), Jésus et l’islam (ARTE TV, 2015), and Jerusalem: Center of the World (PBS TV, 2008).

Major publications

MOURAD, Suleiman.  La Mosaïque de l’Islam. Entretien sur le Coran et le djihadisme avec Perry Anderson. Coll. Poids et mesures du mondeParis: Fayard, 2016. (The Mosaic of Islam, Verso, 2016). 179 p.

MOURAD, Suleiman, LINDSAY, James E.  The Intensification and Reorientation of Sunni Jihad Ideology in the Crusader Period.  Leiden : Brill, November 2013. 222 p.

MOURAD, Suleiman.  The Revealed Text and Intended Subtext: Notes on the Hermeneutics of the Qurʾan in Muʿtazila Discourse as Reflected in the Tahdhib of al-Hakim al-Jishumi (d. 494/1101). In OPWIS, Felicitas, REISMAN, David, (éd.). Islamic Philosophy, Science, Culture, and Religion in Honor of Dimitri Gutas.  Leiden : Brill, 2012.

MOURAD, Suleiman, MAYER, Tamar.  Jerusalem: Idea and Reality.  London : Routledge, 2008. 332 p.

MOURAD, Suleiman.  Early Islam between Myth and History.  Leiden : Brill, 2006. 338 p.

Résidents

Suleiman MOURAD

Professeur de religion, Smith College, Northampton, Etats-Unis

Période de résidence : Avril à juin 2019 en tant que Membre associé ( résidences précédentes : Mai à juin 2018 et octobre 2012 à juin 2013)

Discipline(s) : Histoire

Spécialité(s) : Etudes religieuses

Pays : Etats-Unis

Projet de recherche : Violence et non-violence dans les pratiques et les textes fondateurs de l’Islam

Le débat actuel sur la question de savoir si l’Islam autorise ou prohibe la violence est imprégné de controverses politiques et religieuses, et a façonné le débat public sur l’Islam à tout point de vue. On ne peut contester que les Musulmans qui commentent des violences de nature religieuse ou politique, trouvent légitimité et approbation dans un large ensemble de textes historiques et religieux ainsi que dans des pratiques religieuses historiques. Il existe également une tradition de non-violence, qui parcourt toute l’histoire de l’Islam et qui se manifeste dans un riche héritage marqué par une diversité et une tolérance religieuse et idéologique au sein de la communauté musulmane et entre les Musulmans et les non-Musulmans. Ces deux traditions ont été regardées comme opposées et exprimant des visions du monde contraires. Je plaide pour un abandon de cette structure binaire du problème : soit l’islam est violent, soit l’islam est non-violent, cette forme de l’Islam est non-violente, celle-là est violente, etc. Au contraire, mon projet de recherche vise à étudier la violence et la non-violence en Islam en tant que miroir d’un conflit non résolu tant par les textes fondateurs (à savoir, le Coran, le Hadith de Mohammed, etc.) que dans les traditions et les pratiques formées historiquement. L’objectif poursuivi par cette recherche est de saisir la nature et la logique de cette lutte, et les façons dont elle a agi sur les pratiques violentes et non-violentes mises en œuvre par les Musulmans.

Précédent projet de recherche (résidence 2012-2013) : "La radicalisation de l’idéologie du djihad dans la Syrie des Croisés : Fanatisme religieux ou manipulation politique ?"

Ce projet de recherche vise à analyser un certain nombre d’œuvres produites sur le jihad en Syrie au cours de la période des Croisades, et qui n’ont pas été utilisées dans les études universitaires modernes sur la réponse des musulmans aux Croisades ou au djihad dans l’islam. Le projet se décline en quatre temps : tout d’abord, il s’agira d’étudier ces œuvres, analyser leurs introductions et les grands thèmes qu’elles couvrent, puis déterminer l’image du djihad dont elles font la promotion. Dans un deuxième temps, il sera intéressant d’examiner l’implication des dirigeants dans le financement et la promotion de ces œuvres. Troisièmement, il sera question des savants qui les ont produites, pour déterminer ce qui les a influencés et comment leurs œuvres sur le jihad ont influencé les savants ultérieurs. Quatrièmement, une enquête sera menée sur les manœuvres des dirigeants musulmans qui ont poursuivi des ouvertures diplomatiques avec les chefs locaux des Croisés et des Européens tout en soutenant activement des érudits qui ont rédigé et diffusé des visions militantes du djihad contre les Croisés et les autres musulmans.



Biographie

Suleiman A. Mourad est professeur de religion au Smith College, États-Unis. Ses recherches portent sur l’histoire islamique et la pensée religieuse, le Coran, Jérusalem, l’idéologie du jihad et sur les défis de la modernité qui ont conduit à des changements majeurs dans la perception et l’attitude des musulmans vis-à-vis de leur propre histoire et pensée classique. Ses publications inclus The Intensification and Reorientation of Sunni Jihad Ideology in the Crusader Period (Brill 2013), and The Mosaic of Islam (Verso 2016) / La mosaïque de l’islam (Fayard 2016). Ses recherches ont bénéficié de bourses pretigieuses, telles que celles du National Endowment for the Humanities, États-Unis (2008-2009), de l’Institut d’études avancées de Nantes, France (2012-2013) et de la Fondation Alexander von Humboldt en qualité de chercheur expérimenté, Allemagne (2013-2014). Il a été conseiller historique sur plusieurs documentaires, dont The Sultan and the Saint (PBS TV, 2017), Jésus et l’islam (ARTE TV, 2015) et Jerusalem: Center of the World (PBS TV, 2008).

Bibliographie sélective

MOURAD, Suleiman.  La Mosaïque de l’Islam. Entretien sur le Coran et le djihadisme avec Perry Anderson. Coll. Poids et mesures du mondeParis: Fayard, 2016. (The Mosaic of Islam, Verso, 2016). 179 p.

MOURAD, Suleiman, LINDSAY, James E.  The Intensification and Reorientation of Sunni Jihad Ideology in the Crusader Period.  Leiden : Brill, November 2013. 222 p.

MOURAD, Suleiman.  The Revealed Text and Intended Subtext: Notes on the Hermeneutics of the Qurʾan in Muʿtazila Discourse as Reflected in the Tahdhib of al-Hakim al-Jishumi (d. 494/1101). In OPWIS, Felicitas, REISMAN, David, (éd.). Islamic Philosophy, Science, Culture, and Religion in Honor of Dimitri Gutas.  Leiden : Brill, 2012.

MOURAD, Suleiman, MAYER, Tamar.  Jerusalem: Idea and Reality.  London : Routledge, 2008. 332 p.

MOURAD, Suleiman.  Early Islam between Myth and History.  Leiden : Brill, 2006. 338 p.