Fellows

Pierre-Etienne KENFACK

Law, University of Yaoundé 2, Yaounde, Cameroun

Fellowship : January to March 2017

Discipline(s) : Law

Research project : "Agro-land investments and rights of people in francophone countries in central Africa"

The search for land for agro-industrial plantations has become increasingly widespread in light of the recent financial and food crises in the world. Searching for safe-havens or land to grow crops destined to feed their populations or bio-fuel, investment funds and certain industrialised States seek and obtain vast areas from Central African States through concessions. These investments affect the rights of both public and private individuals. They affect the rights of the contracting State which, in Africa, is sometimes represented by people who, inadequately trained in international transactions or unconcerned about the public interest, sell off the land in opaque transactions, on a willing-seller/willing-buyer basis. They jeopardise food security and the survival of the people occupying and using this land who are treated as third parties despite their actual occupation of this land prior to the establishment of the States of the Central African subregion. How can we ensure that these investments are no longer made to the detriment of the rights of the State and communities? Such is the aim of this project which will give rise to several articles and perhaps a book on the subject.

Biography

Pierre Etienne Kenfack, a national of Cameroon, is a senior lecturer in Private Law at the University of Yaoundé II. Having completed his law studies with a postgraduate thesis at the University of Yaoundé, he went on to do a thesis on legal theory in 2003 at université Paris 1 before undertaking post-doctoral studies at the centre for comparative labour law at université Bordeaux IV.

Starting as assistant professor then lecturer and, since 2011, Senior Lecturer at the University of Yaoundé II, he has taught methodology of legal research, private international law, land law and social law. Today, his research focuses primarily on land law and natural resources.

 

Major publications

Résidents

Pierre-Etienne KENFACK

Droit, université de Yaoundé 2, Yaoundé, Cameroun

Période de résidence : Janvier à Mars 2017

Discipline(s) : Droit

Projet de recherche : "Investissements agro-fonciers et droits des personnes dans les pays francophones d’Afrique centrale "

La recherche des terres en vue de créer des plantations agro-industrielles s’est répandue depuis les récentes crises financières et alimentaires mondiales. Cherchant des valeurs refuges ou des espaces pour assurer des cultures destinées à nourrir leurs populations ou des bio-carburant, les fonds d’investissements et certains Etats industrialisés sollicitent et obtiennent par le biais des concessions des vastes superficies grâces auprès des Etats d’Afrique centrale. Ces investissements rencontrent les droits des personnes aussi bien publiques que privés. Elles rencontrent les droits de l’Etat, contractant qui en Afrique est parfois représenté par des personnes qui, insuffisamment formées aux transactions internationales, ou peu soucieuses de l’intérêt général bradent les terres à l’occasion des transactions opaques, faites de gré-à-gré. Elles mettent en péril la sécurité alimentaire et la survie des personnes occupant et exploitant ces espaces et sont traitées comme tiers alors qu’elles ont sur ceux-ci une occupation réelle antérieure à l’installation des Etats de la sous-région Afrique centrale. Comment faire en sorte que ces investissements ne se fassent plus au détriment des droits de l’Etat et des communautés est l’objet de ce projet qui nous donnera l’occasion de produire quelques articles et peut-être un ouvrage sur le sujet.

biographie

Pierre Etienne Kenfack, de nationalité camerounaise est Maître de conférences agrégé en Droit privé à l’université de Yaoundé II. Après des études de droit sanctionnées par une thèse de doctorat de troisième cycle à l’université de Yaoundé, il a poursuivi avec une thèse de théorie juridique soutenue en 2003 à l’université Paris 1 avant de se diriger vers des études postdoctorales, au centre de droit comparé du travail à l’université de Bordeaux IV.

Assistant, puis chargé de cours et depuis 2011, Maitre de conférence agrégé, il a enseigné à l’université Yaoundé 2, la méthodologie de la recherche juridique, le droit international privé, le droit foncier et le droit social. Ses recherches sont aujourd’hui centrées prioritairement sur le droit foncier et les ressources naturelles.

 

bibliographie