Ana Paula CAVALCANTI SIMIONI

University of São Paulo (Brazil)

Fellowship : October 2021 to June 2022

Discipline(s) : Sociology

Pays : Brasil

Research project: Consecration and gender inequality in the international art world: peripheral artists, possibilities and strategies of insertion.

The contemporary art system is often seen as more democratic than the art systems that preceded it. It is thought that, especially from the late 1980s onwards, the contribution of artists from peripheral countries has been welcomed and that the boundaries of the art world have widened, though as these hierarchies have become more nuanced. Also, from the perspective of gender relations, asymmetries are often considered to have been significantly overcome. However, several studies based on the insertion of peripheral or semi-peripheral artists in the international market, highlight the permanence of inequalities both in terms of origin and gender.

I would like to contribute to the current debates on the impacts of the globalization of the art system on the insertion of peripheral artists, taking as an object of study the insertion, presence and visibility of women artists in two main cases of legitimation of contemporary artists: the market and the museum. Taking as a starting point the remarkable exhibition "Les magiciens de la terre" (1989, Centre Georges Pompidou), this project aims to verify the presence of women artists from countries considered as peripheral or semi-peripheral in the international art market, as well as in the collections of French museums. It is also necessary to analyze whether their works are objects of exhibitions, in order to understand the degrees of visibility that they reach.

Biography

Ana Paula Cavalcanti Simioni is a professor at the University of São Paulo (USP), Brazil, since 2005. She has been a visiting professor at several foreign institutions, including UNAM (Mexico, Instituto de Investigaciones Estéticas) in 2013; at the École Normale Supérieure (rue d’Ulm, Paris) in 2016, where she also completed a postdoctoral fellowship between 2016 and 2017, and, most recently, at the Institut d’Etudes Européennes, Université Paris-8, in 2019. In June, she received a fellowship from the Fondation Maison des Sciences de l’Homme, and in 2020 she was selected as a "fellow" by the Institut d’Études Avancées de Nantes (stay postponed to 2021 due to the covid 19 pandemic). She specializes in sociology of art and culture, studying mainly the following themes: gender and art; transfer of artistic models; relations between artistic centers and peripheries; women artists in Brazil (XIX-XXI centuries). She also curated the exhibitions "Women Artists: Pioneers (1880-1930)" at the Pinacoteca Artística do Estado de São Paulo in 2015 and "Transbordar: Transgressions of Embroidery in Art" at the SESC- Pinheiros, São Paulo (November 2020 to May 2021).

Ana Paula CAVALCANTI SIMIONI

Université de São Paulo (Brésil)

Période de résidence : Octobre 2021 à Juin 2022

Discipline(s) : Sociologie

Pays : Brésil

Projet de recherche : La consécration et l’inégalité de genre dans le monde de l’art international : artistes périphériques, possibilités et stratégies d´insertion.

Le système de l’art contemporain est souvent considéré comme plus démocratique que les systèmes artistiques qui l’ont précédé. On pense que, surtout à partir de la fin des années 1980, la contribution des artistes des pays périphériques a été saluée et que les frontières du monde de l’art se sont élargies, bien comme ces hiérarchies plus nuancées. Également, du point de vue des relations entre les sexes, on considère souvent que les asymétries ont été considérablement surmontées. Cependant, plusieurs études basées sur l’insertion d’artistes périphériques ou semi-périphériques sur le marché international, soulignent la permanence des inégalités à la fois en termes d’origine et de genre.

Je voudrais contribuer aux débats actuels sur les impacts de la mondialisation du système artistique en ce qui concerne l’insertion d’artistes périphériques, en prenant comme objet d’étude notamment l’insertion, la présence et la visibilité des femmes artistes dans deux cas principaux de légitimation des artistes contemporains: le marché et le musée. Prenant comme point de départ la remarquable exposition "Les magiciens de la terre" (1989, Centre Georges Pompidou), ce projet vise vérifier la présence de femmes artistes de pays considérés comme périphériques ou semi-périphériques dans le marché de l’art international, bien comme dans les collections des musées français. Il faut aussi analyser si leurs œuvres sont des objets d’expositions, afin de comprendre les degrés de visibilité qu’elles atteint.

 

Biographie

Ana Paula Cavalcanti Simioni est professeur  à l’Université de São Paulo (USP), Brésil, depuis 2005. Elle a été professeur invitée dans plusieurs institutions étrangères, dont l’UNAM (Mexique, Instituto de Investigaciones Estéticas) en 2013; à l’École Normale Supérieure (rue d’Ulm, Paris) en 2016, où elle a également effectué un stage postdoctoral entre 2016 et 2017, et, plus récemment, à l’Institut d’Etudes Européennes, Université Paris-8, en 2019. En juin, elle a reçu une bourse de la Fondation Maison des Sciences de l’Homme, et en 2020 elle a été sélectionnée comme “fellow” par l’Institut d’Études Avancées de Nantes (séjour reporté en 2021 en raison de la pandémie de covid 19). Elle se spécialise en sociologie de l’art et de la culture, en étudiant principalement les thèmes suivants: genre et art; transferts de modèles artistiques; relations entre centres artistiques et périphéries; femmes artistes au Brésil (XIX-XXIe siècles). Elle a été aussi comissaire des expositions "Femmes Artistes: les pionnières (1880-1930)" à la Pinacoteca Artística do Estado de São Paulo en 2015 et "Transbordar: Transgressions of Embroidery in Art" au SESC- Pinheiros, São Paulo (novembre 2020 à mai 2021).

 

Bibliographie

♦ Simioni, Ana Paula C. Profissão artista: pintoras e escultoras acadêmicas brasileiras. São Paulo: EDUSP/FAPESP, 2008, 358 p.

♦ Simioni, Ana Paula Cavalcanti . “Le modernisme brèsilien, entre consécration et contestation”
 Perspective. Revue de l´INHA, Paris, v. 2013-2, p. 325-342, 2013.

♦ Simioni, Ana Paula Cavalcanti; Fetter, Bruna . Brazilian Female Artists and the  Market: a very unique encounter. Novos estudos CEBRAP (Online), São Paulo, v. 105, p. 241-255, 2016.

♦ Simioni, Ana Paula C. Les transferts de « l? art total » de la Suisse au Brésil : une modernisation très particulière. ARTL@s Bulletin, Paris, v. 5, p. 48-61, 2016.

♦ Simioni, Ana Paula Cavalcanti . Les portraits de l’Impératrice. Genre et politique dans la peinture d’histoire du Brésil. Nuevo Mundo-Mundos Nuevos, Paris, EHESS,  v. 2014-1, p. si-si, 2014.