road_vous_etes_ici
Home
>
Pierre SONIGO

Huri ISLAMOGLU

Pierre SONIGO

MD, biochemist, Inserm, Scientific Director at Bio-Rad, France - Associate Fellow

Fellowship : Trois mois entre Octobre 2014 et Juin 2015 (résidences précédentes : 3 séjours de 2011 à 2013)

Discipline(s) : Biology

Pays : France

Research project : “Theories of life and medical practices”

Medical practises are related to our understanding of the living, which comes from our cultural environment and imposes some epistemological choices. Intensive analysis of the genomes has led biologists to renounce genetic determinism in favour of a “systemic” approach of biology. The work carried out by Pierre SONIGO at IAS-Nantes intends to analyze the consequences of such shift, showing that it requires to question the very foundations of our theories of the living, notably, the concepts of individual and of reproduction.

Such work required interactions with philosophers, historians of medicine, biologists and doctors from different continents and cultural backgrounds (China, India, Africa, Occident).

This work extends the critical approach of genetic theories that has already been published in Ni Dieu ni gène (‘No gods, no genes’, 2000, Seuil, with Jean-Jacques Kupiec) and L’évolution (‘The evolution’, 2003, EDP science, with Isabelle Stengers), and it will continue work previously conducted at the Institute on “ecology of the body” and “biology of continuity”.

The reproduction, considered as an essential process, requires defining a separation, or said otherwise, defining a unit that reproduces. It is disturbing to note that, among all the possible separations of the living – e.g. the species, the individual, the cell, the molecule…-, theories have chosen the one that is the dearest to us: the individual produced by our conscious mind. Is it possible to do without such a classification system to talk about and think the biology? Is it possible to conceive the living in a continuous and dynamic mode, as we conceive the physical waves?

In his current job, Pierre SONIGO seeks to define new approaches for medical diagnosis. Theories of the living are related to our understanding of diseases, which determines the parameters to be investigated in medical biology. A theoretical reconstruction might lead to a new approach of the diagnosis.

Biography

Research Director at the INSERM (French Institute of Health and Medical Research), Pierre SONIGO worked at the Pasteur Institute from 1981 to 1990. A molecular biology and virology specialist, he studied the AIDS virus since 1983.

In 1985, he participated in deciphering the complete sequence of the AIDS virus (HIV). Then from 1990 to 2005, he headed the laboratory "Genetics of viruses” at the Cochin Institute (a Research Center affiliated to INSERM, CNRS and the University Paris Descartes, UPD). He is currently the Scientific Director at Bio-Rad France where he conducts research in medical diagnosis: how can we measure the sick body? He is an associate fellow of the IAS-Nantes since November 2013.

 

Major publications

SONIGO, Pierre et KUPIEC, J-J. Ni Dieu ni gène : Pour une autre théorie de l'hérédité, Paris : Seuil, 2000 (collection Science ouverte)

SONIGO, Pierre et MONCHICOURT, M-O. Faut-il avoir peur des virus, Pairs : Platypus Press, 2001.

SONIGO, Pierre. Les gènes sont-ils à l'origine du vivant ? In RAULIN-CERCEAU, F. LENA, P. et SCHNEIDER, J. Sur les traces du vivant, Le Pommier, 2002.

SONIGO, Pierre. Virus : Dr Jekyll ou Mr Hyde ?, Platypus Press, 2003, 125p.

SONIGO, Pierre et STENGERS, I. L'évolution, EDP Sciences, 2003 (collection Mot à mot)

Previous projects

During previous fellowships at IAS-Nantes, Pierre Sonigo worked on the research projects "A life within ourselves: an ecological vision of the body" (2011 and 2012) and "Waves of life: individual and biology" (2013)

---> Description of the 2011-2013 projects


Warning: Unknown: open(/var/lib/php5/sessions/sess_3f94865bf526fed229847302f120bd33, O_RDWR) failed: No space left on device (28) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct (/var/lib/php5/sessions) in Unknown on line 0

road_vous_etes_ici
Accueil
>
Pierre SONIGO

Huri ISLAMOGLU

Pierre SONIGO

Médecine, biochimie, Inserm, Directeur scientifique de Bio-Rad, France - Membre associé

Période de résidence : Trois mois entre Octobre 2014 et Juin 2015 (résidences précédentes : 3 séjours de 2011 à 2013)

Discipline(s) : Biologie

Pays : France

Projet de recherche : « Théories du vivant et pratiques médicales »

Les pratiques médicales sont liées à notre compréhension du vivant qui provient elle-même de notre environnement culturel et impose certains choix épistémologiques. L’analyse intensive des génomes a conduit les biologistes à renoncer au déterminisme génétique pour une approche dite « systémique » de la biologie. Le travail de Pierre SONIGO à l’IEA de Nantes s’attachera à analyser les conséquences de ce changement, montrant ainsi qu’il impose de questionner les fondamentaux de nos théories du vivant, notamment l’idée d’individu et de reproduction.

Un tel travail nécessite des interactions entre philosophes, historiens de la médecine, biologistes et médecins issus de différentes cultures et continents (Chine, Inde, Afrique, Occident).

Ce travail prolongera l’approche critique des théories génétiques publiée dans Ni Dieu ni gène (2000, Seuil, avec Jean-Jacques Kupiec) et L’évolution (2003, EDP science, avec Isabelle Stengers), et fera suite aux précédents travaux menés à l’IEA sur “l’écologie du corps” et “la biologie du continu”.

La reproduction, principe considéré comme essentiel, nécessite de définir un découpage, autrement dit une unité qui se reproduit. Il est troublant de constater que parmi tous les découpages possibles du vivant (par exemple espèce, individu, cellules, molécules) les théories ont choisi celui qui nous est cher : l’individu produit par notre conscience. Peut-on se passer d’un tel système de classification pour parler et penser la biologie? Peut-on concevoir le vivant sur un mode continu et dynamique, comme les ondes de la physique ?

Le métier actuel de Pierre SONIGO consiste à définir de nouvelles approches en diagnostic médical. Les théories du vivant sont liées à notre compréhension des maladies. L’ensemble conditionne les paramètres recherchés en biologie médicale. Une reconstruction théorique doit donc conduire à une nouvelle approche du diagnostic.

Biographie

Directeur de Recherche à l’Inserm, Pierre Sonigo a travaillé à l’Institut Pasteur de 1981 à 1990. Spécialiste de biologie moléculaire et de virologie, il travaille depuis 1983 sur le SIDA. En 1985, il participe au déchiffrage de la séquence complète du virus du SIDA (VIH). De 1990 à 2005, il dirige le laboratoire "Génétique des virus" à l’Institut Cochin (Inserm et CNRS, Paris). Il est actuellement Directeur scientifique chez Bio-Rad France où il mène des recherches pour le diagnostic médical : comment mesurer le corps malade ?

Il est membre associé de l’IEA de Nantes depuis Novembre 2013.

Bibliographie sélective

SONIGO, Pierre et KUPIEC, J-J. Ni Dieu ni gène : Pour une autre théorie de l’hérédité, Paris : Seuil, 2000 (collection Science ouverte)

SONIGO, Pierre et MONCHICOURT, M-O. Faut-il avoir peur des virus, Pairs : Platypus Press, 2001.

SONIGO, Pierre. Les gènes sont-ils à l’origine du vivant ? In RAULIN-CERCEAU, F. LENA, P. et SCHNEIDER, J. Sur les traces du vivant, Le Pommier, 2002.

SONIGO, Pierre. Virus : Dr Jekyll ou Mr Hyde ?, Platypus Press, 2003, 125p.

SONIGO, Pierre et STENGERS, I. L’évolution, EDP Sciences, 2003 (collection Mot à mot)

Projets précédents

Lors de ses précédents séjours à l’IEA de Nantes, Pierre Sonigo a travaillé sur "Une vie en nous: une vision écologique du corps" (2011 et 2012) et sur "Ondes de vie : L’individu et la biologie" (2013).

---> Description des projets 2011-2013