road_vous_etes_ici
Home
>
Mahua SARKAR

Huri ISLAMOGLU

Mahua SARKAR

Sociology,Binghamton University,United States

Fellowship : October 2016 to June 2017

Discipline(s) : Sociology

Pays : United States

Research project : "’Going abroad’ (Bidesh Kara): Circular/Managed Migration and Bangladeshi Transnational Contract Workers"

Transnational contract work and circular/managed migration bring millions of workers from poorer parts of the world to affluent economies every year. It requires workers to tack back and forth between ’home’ and typically a number of different ’abroads’ in the course of a single working life. While such repeat sojourns can involve both professionals and manual labor, the project focuses on ’low-skilled’ male contract workers from Bangladesh, who work in Singapore, the Persian Gulf and the Middle East and North African (MENA) regions. Going abroad (Bidesh Kara) situates this kind of contemporary work and migration regimes within the larger, historical question of the status of labor. Drawing on ethnographic research among Bangladeshi migrants in Singapore and return workers and their families in Bangladesh, it seeks to develop a critical understanding of ’low-skilled’, transnational contract work as it has evolved once again into widespread practice since the final decades of the twentieth century. In the process, the project reflects on the complex interdependencies among different regions of the world - some with a surfeit of wealth but an ageing and hence shrinking laboring population, and others with endemic poverty, but a surplus, young labor force.

Biography

Mahua Sarkar is Associate Professor of Sociology, and Asian & Asian-American Studies at Binghamton University, New York. Recently, she has been Senior EURIAS Fellow at the Wissenschaftskolleg, Berlin, and a Fellow at Re:work, Humboldt University, Berlin, Centre for the Study of Developing Societies, Delhi and the Asia Research Institute, National University of Singapore. Her areas of research interest include Historical Sociology, Gender/Feminist Theory, Postcolonial Theory, the Politics of Methods, Global Labour History and Transnational Migration. Her publications include her book Visible Histories, Disappearing Women: Producing Muslim Womanhood in Late Colonial Bengal (Duke University Press, 2008 and Zubaan, Delhi 2008); "Changing Together, Changing Apart: Urban Muslim and Hindu Women in Pre-Partition Bengal." History and Memory, (2015); "Between Craft and Method: Meaning and Inter-subjectivity in Oral History Analysis" in the Journal of Historical Sociology (2012); "Difference in Memory" in Comparative Studies in Society and History (2006), "Looking for Feminism" in Gender & History, (2004), and "What is the EU?" (with József Böröcz) in International Sociology (2005). She is currently working on her second book, provisionally entitled ’Going Abroad’ (Bidesh Kara): Circular/Managed Migration and Bangladeshi Transnational Contract Workers. She has two additional research interests in surrogacy as a form of labour, and socialist internationalism.

Major publications

SARKAR, Mahua.Visible Histories/Disappearing Women: Producing Muslim Womanwood in Late Colonial Bengal. Durham,NC-London, Duke University Press, 2008. Simultaneously pulished: New Delhi, Zubaan Books (South Asian edition), 2008, 338p.

 

SARKAR, Mahua. “Changing Together,Changing Apart: Urban Muslim and Hindu Women in Pre-Partition Bengal.” History and Memory, Vol. 27, No. 1 (Spring/Summer 2015):5-42

 

SARKAR, Mahua. “Difference in Memory”, Comparative Studies in Society History, 48, 1 (January 2006): 139-168.

 

SARKAR Mahua. “Looking for Feminism”, Gender and History, 16,2 (August,2004): 318-333.


Warning: Unknown: open(/var/lib/php5/sessions/sess_06a9b0d53071720b1c723e4715a00f1e, O_RDWR) failed: No space left on device (28) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct (/var/lib/php5/sessions) in Unknown on line 0

road_vous_etes_ici
Accueil
>
Mahua SARKAR

Huri ISLAMOGLU

Mahua SARKAR

Sociologie, Université d’État de New York à Binghamton, Etats-Unis

Période de résidence : Octobre 2016 à Juin 2017

Discipline(s) : Sociologie

Pays : Etats-Unis

Projet de recherche :"“Going abroad” (Bidesh Kara) : La migration circulaire et temporaire des travailleurs Bangladais"

Chaque année, la migration circulaire et temporaire amène des millions de travailleurs venant des parties les plus pauvres du monde vers des économies plus prospères. Ces travailleurs doivent ainsi généralement faire de nombreux allers-retours entre leur « chez eux » et différents « ailleurs » au cours de leur vie active. Si de tels séjours répétés peuvent concerner à la fois des emplois manuels et intellectuels, le projet de recherche se concentre sur les travailleurs temporaires masculins et peu qualifiés allant du Bangladesh vers Singapour, le Golfe Persique ainsi que les régions du Moyen-Orient et de l’Afrique du Nord. L’étude « Going Abroad » situe ce type de travail temporaire et les régimes migratoires qui en découlent dans la perspective plus large et historique du statut des travailleurs. Ce projet s’appuie sur des recherches ethnographiques sur les migrants Bangladais à Singapour ainsi que sur les travailleurs et leurs familles à leur retour au Bangladesh. Mahua SARKAR cherche à développer une compréhension critique des notions de « travail peu qualifié » et du travail temporaire à l’étranger qui est devenu une pratique courante à la fin du XXème siècle. Ce projet amène à réfléchir aux interdépendances complexes entre les différentes parties du monde, certaines caractérisées par un excès de richesse mais une population active vieillissante et donc décroissante, et d’autres dont la pauvreté est endémique mais dont la population active est jeune et abondante.

Biographie

Mahua Sarkar est professeure associée en sociologie et en études asiatiques et asio-américaines à l’Université de Binghamton aux Etats-Unis. Elle récemment été Senior Fellow du programme EURIAS (European Institutes for Advanced Study) sur le campus du Wissenschaftskolleg de Berlin où elle a également été Fellow du Re:work de l’Université Humboldt. Elle a intégré l’institut de recherche CSDS (Centre for the Study of Developing Societies) à Delhi et a travaillé à l’institut de recherche asiatique de l’Université nationale de Singapour. Ses domaines de recherche portent sur la sociologie historique, la théorie du genre et la théorie féministe, la théorie postcoloniale, la politique des méthodes, l’histoire globale du travail et les migrations transnationales. Elle a publié un ouvrage intitulé Visible Histories, Disappearing Women: Producing Muslim Womanhood in Late Colonial Bengal (Duke University Press, 2008 et Zubaan, Delhi 2008). Elle a régulièrement publié des articles tels que “Changing Together, Changing Apart: Urban Muslim and Hindu Women in Pre-Partition Bengal History and Memory” (2015); “Between Craft and Method: Meaning and Inter-subjectivity in Oral History Analysis" (Journal of Historical Sociology, 2012); "Difference in Memory" (Comparative Studies in Society and History, 2006); "Looking for Feminism" (Gender & History, 2004) et "What is the EU?” co-écrit avec József Böröcz (International Sociology, 2005). Elle travaille actuellement à un second livre, provisoirement intitulé “Going Abroad" (Bidesh Kara) qui soulève notamment la question de la migration circulaire et temporaire des travailleurs Bangladais. La gestation pour autrui comme forme de travail et l’internationalisme socialiste sont deux domaines de recherche émergents dans ses travaux actuels.

Bibliographie sélective

SARKAR, Mahua.Visible Histories/Disappearing Women: Producing Muslim Womanwood in Late Colonial Bengal. Durham,NC-London, Duke University Press, 2008. Simultaneously pulished: New Delhi, Zubaan Books (South Asian edition), 2008, 338p.

 

SARKAR, Mahua. “Changing Together,Changing Apart: Urban Muslim and Hindu Women in Pre-Partition Bengal.” History and Memory, Vol. 27, No. 1 (Spring/Summer 2015):5-42

 

SARKAR, Mahua. “Difference in Memory”, Comparative Studies in Society History, 48, 1 (January 2006): 139-168.

 

SARKAR Mahua. “Looking for Feminism”, Gender and History, 16,2 (August,2004): 318-333.