road_vous_etes_ici
Home
>
Anne DUBOS

Huri ISLAMOGLU

Anne DUBOS

Anthropology,Paris 8 University and École nationale supérieure de création industrielle (ENSCI), France

Fellowship : October 2016 to June 2017

Discipline(s) : Anthropology

Pays : France

Research Project : « Phantom of the graphic form; towards an archeology of gesture »

The study of Indian theatre history highlights the variety in the actor’s body techniques. Based on the analysis of concrete cases of performance, Anne Dubos’ research project aims to measure the transformation of gesture through time and space. To challenge both epistemological and technological advancement, she plans to design several trans-media installations that will combine traditional performance and digital arts. The ultimate goal of the project is to design interactive tools where knowledge is closely associated to body performance. As a direct consequence, the archive of technical gesture will question heritage conservation policies. Beyond the design of a graphical analysis method, her research will aim at creating new archiving tools for social sciences.

 

 

Biography

Anne Dubos is an anthropologist and a transmedia artist. She conducts a double research project between social anthropology and performing arts. In 2013, she obtained a PhD from Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales (EHESS) on the gesture transmission in contemporary theater in Kerala (South India). After Marcel Mauss (1963), Adam Kendon (1997), and Marcel Jousse (1974), the objective of her research is to question how gesture can be defined and transmitted.

Both as a visual artist and a researcher she writes and directs performances and art installations in search for new theoretical paradigms. Between theory and practice, her aim is to understand creation process. From the morphogenetic analysis of a gesture in performance (that is, either on stage or in a rehearsal context) to a global understanding of body culture movement, her work aims to show that gesture could be perceived as a form that follows the transformation theory (D’Arcy Thompson: 1917). She therefore works at developing a “morphogenetic theatre theory”, where motion capture helps to show the modification of the shape of the body in time and space. Moreover, based on the assertion that there is an “ecology of practice” of the gesture (Bateson: 1983), her work includes the notion of “drama-diversity”. As such, she argues that there are necessary factors that allow the growth of a form and, consequently, she tends to generate maps of body movement. She has founded a multidisciplinary group : the Little Heart Movement, composed by dancers, theatre artists, martial artists, geographers, digital artists and software engineers, biomecanicians, anthropologists, philosophers, psychologists. They help her capture body movement and map it in 3 or 4 dimensions. Her research aims at revealing new theories of gesture transmission.

 

Major publications

DUBOS Anne et JÉGO Jean-François, "Rock Art Rocks Me",MOCO ’16 Proceedings of the 3rd International Symposium on Movement and Computing,Thessaloniki, GA, Greece — July 05 - 06, 2016, ACM New York, NY, USA.

DUBOS A.,« de la Gestothèque au Port Nord – études pour ambiances patrimoniales industrielles à venir »,Nicolas Rémy (dir.) ; Nicolas Tixier (dir.). Ambiances, tomorrow. University of Thessaly, vol. 2, p. 891 - 896, 2016.

 

DUBOS A. (2013), « Chandradasan ou la pratique d’un théâtre de l’alternative. Quels enjeux sont liés à la reconnaissance des arts vivants contemporains au Kerala (Inde du Sud) ? » http://revues.mshparisnord.org/cultureskairos/index.php?id=720 in Culture KairosRevue d’anthropologie des pratiques corporelles et des arts vivants, Paris, MSH 

Entretiens

DUBOS A. (2015), « Présences et déplacements. Le ciel d’Andrea — entretien avec Natacha Nisic », à propos de son exposition à la Galerie du Jeu de Paume, novembre 2013, Théorèmes, enjeux des approches empiriques des religions, Université de Genève (à paraître)

 DUBOS A. (2013), « Le voile du croire, entretien avec Albert Piette », http://theoremes.revues.org/500 in Théorèmes, enjeux des approches empiriques des religions, Université de Genève

road_vous_etes_ici
Accueil
>
Anne DUBOS

Huri ISLAMOGLU

Anne DUBOS

Anthropologie,Université de Paris 8 et École nationale supérieure de création industrielle (ENSCI), France

Période de résidence : Octobre 2016 à Juin 2017

Discipline(s) : Anthropologie

Pays : France

Projet de recherche : « Fantôme de la forme graphique, pour une archéologie du geste »

L’étude de l’histoire des théâtres indiens met en évidence la variété des techniques du corps de l’acteur. Sur la base de l’analyse de cas concrets de performance, la recherche d’Anne Dubos vise à mesurer la transformation du geste à travers le temps et l’espace. Interrogeant les progrès épistémologiques et technologiques, Anne est l’auteur de plusieurs installations transmédia qui combinent performance traditionnelle et arts numériques. Le but de sa recherche est de concevoir des outils interactifs où la connaissance est étroitement associée à la performance du corps. Elle interroge par là les processus d’archive du geste technique au sein des politiques de conservation du patrimoine. Son projet tend également à générer de nouveaux outils d’archivage pour les sciences sociales.

Biographie

Anne Dubos est anthropologue et artiste transmédia. Sa thèse de doctorat d’anthropologie sociale, soutenue en janvier 2013 à l’École des Hautes Études en Sciences sociales (EHESS), porte sur la transmission du geste dans la pratique des théâtres contemporains au Kérala (Inde du Sud). Dans la lignée de Marcel Mauss, Leroi-Gourhan, Adam Kendon ou Marcel Jousse, elle interroge la définition du geste humain. À travers une étude morphogénétique des théâtres où la capture des mouvements permet d’illustrer leur métamorphose à travers le temps et l’espace (D’Arcy Thompson : 1917), sa recherche repose sur l’hypothèse selon laquelle la vie du geste est régie selon une écologie de pratique (Bateson : 1983). À Paris comme en Inde, elle organise des ateliers de recherche transdisciplinaires où l’acteur est « agent » : il est à la fois auteur et complice de la trace qu’il forme avec son corps dans l’espace du dispositif. À la recherche de nouveaux paradigmes, elle interroge l’émergence de nouvelles théories sur la perception du mouvement et la cognition. Pour cela, elle a fondé la compagnie Little Heart Movement, au sein de laquelle collaborent danseurs, comédiens, artistes numériques ingénieurs, informaticiens, chanteurs, musiciens, anthropologues, géographes, architectes, psychologies et (bio)mécaniciens

Bibliographie sélective

DUBOS Anne et JÉGO Jean-François, "Rock Art Rocks Me", MOCO ’16 Proceedings of the 3rd International Symposium on Movement and Computing,Thessaloniki, GA, Greece — July 05 - 06, 2016, ACM New York, NY, USA.

DUBOS A.,« de la Gestothèque au Port Nord – études pour ambiances patrimoniales industrielles à venir »,Nicolas Rémy (dir.) ; Nicolas Tixier (dir.). Ambiances, tomorrow. University of Thessaly, vol. 2, p. 891 - 896, 2016.

DUBOS A. (2013), « Chandradasan ou la pratique d’un théâtre de l’alternative. Quels enjeux sont liés à la reconnaissance des arts vivants contemporains au Kerala (Inde du Sud) ? » http://revues.mshparisnord.org/cultureskairos/index.php?id=720 in Culture Kairos, Revue d’anthropologie des pratiques corporelles et des arts vivants, Paris, MSH 

Entretiens

DUBOS A. (2015), « Présences et déplacements. Le ciel d’Andrea — entretien avec Natacha Nisic », à propos de son exposition à la Galerie du Jeu de Paume, novembre 2013, Théorèmes, enjeux des approches empiriques des religions, Université de Genève (à paraître)

 DUBOS A. (2013), « Le voile du croire, entretien avec Albert Piette », http://theoremes.revues.org/500 in Théorèmes, enjeux des approches empiriques des religions, Université de Genève