road_vous_etes_ici
Home
>
Fellows
>
Julia TORRIE

Fellows

Julia TORRIE

Saint Thomas University, Canada

Fellowship : October 2021 to June 2022

Discipline(s) : History

Pays : Canada

Research project: Frozen Food and Empire

This project explores links between empire building and frozen food from the 1890’s through the 1970’s. Beginning in the late 19th century, refrigerator ships plied the world’s oceans, bringing frozen meat from areas with ample grazing land, like Argentina, Australia and New Zealand, to protein-hungry European cities. In the decades that followed, regardless of wars and regime changes, this pattern persisted, laying key groundwork for global food systems today.

Using a long time frame and a wide geographical scope, this project makes three main contributions. Drawing on the historiographies of both food and empire, it reveals ground-level processes through which products from peripheral areas were drawn toward imperial centres. Second, by studying frozen food infrastructure, it demonstrates how prioritizing empire-building motivated technological change and how new technologies enabled empire. Finally, the research offers novel ways to understand similarities and differences between “classic” colonial empires, wartime structures like Hitler’s Greater Germany, and trade-based imperial complexes that did not involve direct geo-political control.

“Frozen Food and Empire” investigates the historical processes that underpin today’s global food market. It addresses food security and examines the roots of ongoing power imbalances between peripheral areas, where agricultural products are often produced and frozen, and metropoles, where they are typically consumed.

Biography

Born in Toronto, Canada, Julia Torrie is a Professor of History at St. Thomas University (Canada). She holds an A.M and Ph.D. from Harvard University, USA, and her research focuses broadly on the interactions of powerful and less powerful actors within constraining structures such as empires and military occupations. She has written on the social and cultural history of the Second World War and, more recently, on the history of food. Her book German Soldiers and the Occupation of France, 1940-1944 (Cambridge, 2018) uses soldiers’ diaries, letters and amateur photographs to examine the occupation of France from below. A previous monograph, “For Their Own Good”: Civilian Evacuations in Germany and France, 1939-1945 (Berghahn, 2010), compared civilian evacuations in the two countries. Notably the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany have funded Torrie’s research. She has published articles on wartime food history, soldier tourism and photography, the German home front, and women’s wartime roles as military auxiliaries. Today, her research focuses on the historical development of food infrastructure in war and peacetime, and its interaction with empire.

Résidents

Julia TORRIE

Université Saint Thomas, Canada

Période de résidence : Octobre 2021 à juin 2022

Discipline(s) : Histoire

Pays : Canada

Projet de recherche : La nourriture congelée et les empires

Ce projet traite des rapports entre l’impérialisme et la nourriture congelée des années 1890 aux années 1970. A partir de la fin du dix-neuvième siècle, des bateaux frigorifiques voguèrent sur les océans du monde entier afin d’amener de la viande des régions qui disposaient de grands pâturages, telles que l’Argentine, l’Australie et la Nouvelle-Zélande, vers les villes européennes en grande demande de protéines. Durant les décennies suivantes, malgré les guerres et les changements de régime, ces habitudes persistèrent préparant ainsi le système alimentaire mondial actuel.

Appliquant un cadre temporel long et un large spectre géographique, ce projet fait trois principales contributions. Tout d’abord, au travers de l’historiographie de la nourriture ainsi que celle des empires, il dévoile les processus par lesquels les produits des zones périphériques furent attirés vers les centres impériaux. Puis, en étudiant l’infrastructure de la nourriture congelée, il démontre que la priorité donnée à l’élargissement des empires coloniaux motiva l’évolution technologique et comment les nouvelles technologies ont servi à faciliter la création d’empires coloniaux. Finalement, cette recherche propose de nouvelles façons de comprendre les ressemblances et les différences entre les empires coloniaux « classiques », les structures issues de la guerre telles que la grande Allemagne hitlérienne et les empires fondés sur le commerce sans contrôle géopolitique direct.

« La nourriture congelée et les empires » porte sur les processus historiques qui soutiennent notre système alimentaire mondial. Ce projet traite des problèmes liés à la sécurité alimentaire et examine les origines des déséquilibres de pouvoir persistants entre les régions périphériques, où les produits agricoles sont souvent produits et congelés, et les métropoles où ils sont d’habitude consommés.

Biographie

Née à Toronto, Julia Torrie est professeure d’Histoire à l’Université Saint Thomas au Canada. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise ainsi que d’un doctorat de l’Université Harvard (Etats-Unis). Sa recherche porte sur les interactions d’acteurs plus ou moins puissants au sein de structures contraignantes telles que les empires et les occupations militaires. Elle a publié sur l’histoire sociale et culturelle pendant la deuxième guerre mondiale et, plus récemment, sur l’histoire de la nourriture. Son livre, German Soldiers and the Occupation of France (Cambridge, 2018) dessine un portrait de l’Occupation de la France à partir des journaux intimes de soldats allemands, ainsi que de leurs lettres et photographies personnelles. Elle a publié précédemment : “For Their Own Good”: Civilian Evacuations in Germany and France, 1939-1945 (Berghahn, 2010), qui compare les méthodes utilisées pour les évacuations de civils suites aux bombardements aériens dans les deux pays. Les travaux de recherche de Julia Torrie ont notamment été soutenus par le Conseil des Recherches en Sciences Humaines du Canada et la Fondation Alexander von Humboldt (Allemagne). Elle a publié des articles traitant de l’histoire de la nourriture en temps de guerre, du tourisme et de la photographie par les soldats allemands, du front arrière allemand ainsi que du rôle des femmes en tant qu’auxiliaires militaires. Aujourd’hui, elle s’intéresse notamment au développement des infrastructures alimentaires en temps de guerre et de paix, et leurs liens avec l’impérialisme.

Bibliographie

♦ SCHECK, Raffael, THEOFILAKIS, Fabien et TORRIE, Julia, eds. German-occupied Europe in the Second World War. London: Routledge, 2019, 263 pp.

♦ TORRIE, Julia. German Soldiers and the Occupation of France, 1940-1944, Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2018, 276 pp.

♦ TORRIE, Julia. “The Home Front.” In The Oxford Illustrated History of the Third Reich. Robert Gellately, ed., Oxford University Press, 2018, 275-310.

♦ TORRIE, Julia. “Frozen Food and National Socialist Expansionism. Global Food History, 2:1 (Mar. 2016): 51-73.

♦ TORRIE, Julia. “For Their Own Good:” Civilian Evacuations in Germany and France, 1939-1945. New York : Berghahn Books, 2010, 269 pp.