Fellows

Yehouda SHENHAV

Tel Aviv University

Fellowship : October 2021 to June 2022

Discipline(s) : Sociology

Pays : Israel

Research project Literatures and Translation through Dialogue in Colonial Conflict Zones.

The projects sets out to explore the language of politics in conflict zones through literature and translation. It is co-authored by Lebanese writer Elias Khouri and Israeli sociologist Yehouda Shenhav-Shahrabani and it is envisioned as a three-year program in association with IAS-Nantes. Per proposal, Khouri and Shenhav-Shahrabani will both be invited as associate fellows to the institute, and while the pair may widely diverge, intellectually, their respective bodies of work nonetheless share common ground to foster a mutually beneficial dialogue. Living and working together for several months, each year as associate fellows will allow Khouri and Shenhav-Shahrabani to tackle different perceptions on various issues, and to disseminate their insights through writing, workshops and public lectures. In the first year, the two will spearhead a team of translation of Khouri’s novels, based on Shenhav-Shahrabani’s theorization of the concept  as specified in his book, Laborers and Actors in Translation (2020,Hebrew).

In year two, they will lead a workshop on the representations of violence in literature in conflict/colonial zones with Khouri’s novels used as case studies. In the third and final year, the workshop will take on a team of translation of Palestinian Nakba literature as a test case of one such instance of historic violence.

 

Biography

Yehouda Shenhav-Shahrabani is a professor emeritus of sociology at Tel Aviv University and the current Editor-in-Chief of the Maktoob series for Hebrew translations of Arabic literature at the Jerusalem Van-Leer Institute. Highlights of his books include Manufacturing Rationality (Oxford University Press, 1999); The Arab-Jews (Stanford University Press, 2006); Beyond the Two States Solution (Polity Press, 2012); Laborers and Actors in Translation (Hebrew, 2020).

Résidents

Yehouda SHENHAV

Université de Tel-Aviv, Israël Membre chercheur de l’IEA de Nantes

Période de résidence : Janvier 2022 à mars 2022

Discipline(s) : Sociologie

Pays : Israël

Projet de recherche Littérature et traduction à travers le dialogue dans les zones de conflit colonial.

Ce projet vise à explorer le langage de la politique dans les zones de conflit à travers la littérature et la traduction. Il est co-écrit par l’écrivain libanais Elias Khouri et le sociologue israélien Yehouda Shenhav-Shahrabani et est envisagé comme un programme de trois ans en association avec l’IAS-Nantes. Selon la proposition, Khouri et Shenhav-Shahrabani seront tous deux invités en tant que résident associés à l’institut. Si les deux hommes peuvent diverger considérablement sur le plan intellectuel, leurs travaux respectifs n’en partagent pas moins un terrain d’entente pour favoriser un dialogue mutuellement bénéfique. Le fait de vivre et de travailler ensemble pendant plusieurs mois chaque année en tant que résident associés permettra à Khouri et Shenhav-Shahrabani d’aborder différentes perceptions de diverses questions et de diffuser leurs idées par le biais d’écrits, d’ateliers et de conférences publiques. Au cours de la première année, les deux hommes dirigeront une équipe de traduction des romans de Khouri, sur la base de la théorisation du concept par Shenhav-Shahrabani, telle qu’elle est précisée dans son livre Laborers and Actors in Translation (2020, hébreu).

Au cours de la deuxième année, ils dirigeront un atelier sur les représentations de la violence dans la littérature des zones de conflit/coloniales, les romans de Khouri étant utilisés comme études de cas. Au cours de la troisième et dernière année, l’atelier s’occupera d’une équipe de traduction de la littérature palestinienne de la Nakba en tant que cas test d’une telle instance de violence historique.

 

Biographie

Yehouda Shenhav-Shahrabani est professeur émérite de sociologie à l’Université de Tel Aviv et l’actuel rédacteur en chef de la collection Maktoob pour les traductions en hébreu de la littérature arabe à l’Institut Van-Leer de Jérusalem. Parmi ses ouvrages, citons Manufacturing Rationality (Oxford University Press, 1999) ; The Arab-Jews (Stanford University Press, 2006) ; Beyond the Two States Solution (Polity Press, 2012) ; Laborers and Actors in Translation (hébreu, 2020).