road_vous_etes_ici
Home
>
Fellows
>
Sudhir CHANDRA

Fellows

Sudhir CHANDRA

Contemporary History, Mizoram University, Aizawl, India - Associate Fellow

Fellowship : October to December 2015 and April to June 2016 (4 previous fellowships between 2010 and 2013 and April to June 2015)

Discipline(s) : History

Area(s) of expertise : Contemporary history

Pays : Inde

Research Project: "Beyond modernity : religion, culture, nation and the dream of non violence"

Professor Sudhir CHANDRA studies the interpenetration of religion, culture and nationalism by focusing on the conversion to Christianity of a number of gifted upper caste/class men and women in colonial India. Belying the long-prevailing stereotype that Indian Christians were ipso facto denationalized, these converts played a pioneering role in the multi-faceted nationalist awakening that led to the making of modern India. In that this stereotype pervades the Hindu psyche, which believes that Hindu means Indian, this study also brings to the fore the question of cognition per se.

The study has larger epistemic dimensions as well. As a linguistic phenomenon, the analytically necessary use of three separate terms – religion, culture and nationalism – generates a reflex-expectation of a corresponding separation in real life. Even when it is realized that the separately designated phenomena are in reality inextricably intermixed, it is assumed that they can be analytically aggregated. But that rarely remains an innocuous analytic operation. It is willy-nilly swayed by the hegemonic modernist belief that secularization is essential to modernization. Consequently, pre-colonial India is inferiorized for being suffused with religion, and the making of modern India is measured – and valorized – in terms of its release from that suffusion. Anything presumed to impede that modernizing process is considered ipso facto reactionary and communal. As against that, ‘mainstream’ nationalism is presented as progressive, secular and modern. In his study Sudhir CHANDRA seeks to counter such epistemic assumptions to be able to tell a more complex tale.

Biography

Sudhir CHANDRA, historian, has been primarily engaged in understanding the nature of modern Indian social consciousness as it began to shape as a consequence of colonial intervention.

Currently Sudhir CHANDRA is working on the interplay of religion, culture, and nationalism by focusing on upper caste converts to Christianity, and on the last days of Gandhi.

Besides teaching at the Melbourne University, the Aligarh Muslim University (Centre for Advanced Study in History), and the Jamia Millia Islamia in New Delhi, Sudhir CHANDRA has been associated as visiting professor/fellow with major Indian and international institutions like the Indian Institute of Advanced Study (Shimla), Centre for the Study of Developing Societies (New Delhi), Nehru Memorial Museum & Library (New Delhi), Centre for Social Studies (Surat), Heidelberg University (South Asia Institute), Cornell University, Chicago University, Bellagio Study and Conference Center, Tokyo University of Foreign Studies, and the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science.

He is an Associate Fellow at IAS-Nantes since 2013.

Major Publications

CHANDRA, Sudhir. Dependence and Disillusionment: Emergence of National Consciousness in Later Nineteenth Century India. New Delhi ; Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2011, 2e éd. rev. 195 p.

 

CHANDRA, Sudhir. The Oppressive Present: Literature and Social Consciousness in Colonial India. Delhi ; Oxford : Oxford University Press, 1992. 192 p.

 

CHANDRA, Sudhir. Enslaved Daughters: Colonialism, Law and Women’s Rights. New Delhi ; Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2008, 2e éd. rev. 265 p.

 

CHANDRA, Sudhir. Continuing Dilemmas: Understanding Social Consciousness. New Delhi : Tulika Books, 2002. 321 p.

 

CHANDRA, Sudhir. Gandhi: Ek Asambhav Sambhavana. New Delhi : Rajkamal Prakashan, 2011. 184 p.

Former projects

During previous fellowships at IAS-Nantes, Sudhir Chandra worked on the research project "Gandhi: An Inquiry into a Recessive Discourse" (October 2010 to June 2011).

Résidents

Sudhir CHANDRA

Histoire contemporaine, Université Mizoram, Aizawl, Inde - Membre associé

Période de résidence : Octobre à Décembre 2015 et Avril à Juin 2016 (résidences précédentes : 4 séjours entre 2010 et 2013 puis d’avril à juin 2015)

Discipline(s) : Histoire

Spécialité(s) : Histoire contemporaine

Pays : Inde

Projet de recherche : « Au-delà de la modernité: religion, culture, nation et le rêve de non-violence »

Sudhir CHANDRA étudie l’interpénétration de la religion, de la culture et du nationalisme en se concentrant sur la conversion au christianisme d’un certain nombre d’hommes et de femmes talentueux issus des castes/classes supérieures dans l’Inde coloniale. Contredisant le stéréotype longtemps dominant selon lequel les chrétiens indiens ont été ipso facto dénationalisés, ces convertis ont joué un rôle de pionniers dans l’éveil nationaliste aux multiples facettes qui a mené à l’Inde moderne. Comme ce stéréotype imprègne la psyché hindoue, qui estime que Hindou signifie Indien, cette étude met aussi en évidence la question de la connaissance per se.

L’étude présente également d’importantes dimensions épistémiques. En tant que phénomène linguistique, l’utilisation de trois termes distincts, nécessaire du point de vue analytique, - la religion, la culture et le nationalisme - fait que l’on s’attend automatiquement à une telle séparation dans la vie de tous les jours. Et même si l’on prend conscience que ces phénomènes, bien que désignés séparément, sont inextricablement mêlés dans la réalité, il est supposé qu’ils peuvent être analytiquement agrégés. Or c’est rarement une opération analytique anodine. C’est, qu’on le veuille ou non, le fruit de la croyance hégémonique moderniste selon laquelle la sécularisation est essentielle à la modernisation. En conséquence, l’Inde précoloniale est rabaissée comme étant imprégnée de religion, et la création de l’Inde moderne est mesurée - et valorisée- en fonction de sa libération par rapport à cette imprégnation. Tout ce qui pourrait entraver ce processus de modernisation est considéré ipso facto comme réactionnaire et communautaire. En revanche, le nationalisme ‘courant’ est présenté comme progressiste, laïc et moderne. Dans son étude Sudhir CHANDRA vise à contrer ces hypothèses épistémiques afin de pouvoir révéler une histoire plus complexe.

Biographie

L’activité principale de Sudhir CHANDRA, historien, porte sur la nature de la conscience sociale indienne moderne telle qu’elle a vu le jour suite à l’intervention coloniale.

Actuellement Sudhir CHANDRA travaille sur l’interaction entre la religion, la culture et le nationalisme en s’intéressant aux membres des castes supérieures convertis au christianisme, et aux derniers jours de Gandhi.

En parallèle de ses enseignements à l’Université de Melbourne, à l’Université Aligarh, et à la Jamia Millia Islamia à New Delhi, Sudhir CHANDRA a été associé, en tant que professeur invité ou résident, à des institutions indiennes et internationales telles que l’Institut d’Études Avancées de Shimla, le Centre pour l’étude des sociétés en développement CSDS (New Delhi), le Nehru Memorial Museum & Library (New Delhi), le Centre des Sciences Sociales (Surat), l’Institut de l’Asie du Sud de l’Université d’Heidelberg, l’Université Cornell, l’Université de Chicago, le Bellagio Center, Tokyo University of Foreign Studies ou encore la Japan Society for the Promotion of Science.

Il est membre associé de l’IEA de Nantes depuis 2013.

Bibliographie sélective

CHANDRA, Sudhir. Dependence and Disillusionment: Emergence of National Consciousness in Later Nineteenth Century India. New Delhi ; Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2011, 2e éd. rev. 195 p.

 

CHANDRA, Sudhir. The Oppressive Present: Literature and Social Consciousness in Colonial India. Delhi ; Oxford : Oxford University Press, 1992. 192 p.

 

CHANDRA, Sudhir. Enslaved Daughters: Colonialism, Law and Women’s Rights. New Delhi ; Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2008, 2e éd. rev. 265 p.

 

CHANDRA, Sudhir. Continuing Dilemmas: Understanding Social Consciousness. New Delhi : Tulika Books, 2002. 321 p.

 

CHANDRA, Sudhir. Gandhi: Ek Asambhav Sambhavana. New Delhi : Rajkamal Prakashan, 2011. 184 p.

Projets précédents

Lors de ses précédents séjours à l’IEA de Nantes, Sudhir Chandra a travaillé sur "Gandhi : une enquête sur un discours rétrograde" (octobre 2010 à juin 2011).