Johanna Rolland

President of the Board of Trustees of the IAS-Nantes Foundation


Mayor of the City of Nantes and President of Nantes Metropole



Mrs Johanna Rolland graduated in Political Sciences at Sciences-Po Lille and holds as well a Master degree on local democracy (Grenoble).

She was recruited in 2002 by the city of Le Creusot (Saône-et-Loire) to work on participative democracy in an area of urban renewal and on the organisation of local urban councils. She then became the head of the "Urban Policy" service.

She returned to Nantes in 2004 and became the parliamentary attaché of Jean-Marc Ayrault, and, during the 2007 campaign for the Parliament, she was his campaign manager.

Elected at the Nantes city Council in 2008, she was designated Deputy Mayor for Education and Youth. In 2011, she was elected to the Department Council (’conseillère générale’). She became First Deputy Mayor in 2012 when Jean-Marc Ayrault became prime Minsiter.

After the last municipal election, she became, on April 4th, 2014, Mayor of Nantes.

On April 16th, 2014, Mrs Johanna Rolland was elected as President of Nantes Métropole and, on May 26th, 2014, President of Nantes - Saint-Nazaire Metropolitan Area.

On November 7th, 2014, she was elected president of the Eurocities network.



> Back to the composition of the Board of Trustees